top of page

Mac Lipstick collection 2016!


My holy grail lipstick ever - has to be Mac lipsticks. I tried a few bullet lipstick formulas from other brands and nothing compares. The colours, formulation and staying power of these lipsticks are incomparable.

Mac was the first brand I use when I developed my love for makeup - and till today I still continue to go back to this brand for foundation and lipsticks!

The options you have with these lipsticks vary from colour to formula. Mac recently released their liquid lipstick range - while it is new and on trend the original lipstick formulas are still the best.

I wanted to share my collection with you guys - its not massive but also not small for the average person - simply because I just love these lipsticks. I have swatched them on my hand below and given the name and description of the colour and formula below.

Mac lipsticks retail for between R230 - R330, they can be found in-store at selected Edgars outlets and at stand alone Mac stores country-wide.

(From left to right)

Stone:

This is a recent lipstick colour release by Mac. It was available as a lip liner first and released as a lipstick version. I used the lip liner to line my lips for darker colours and it gives your lips the perfect shadow line.

This is a Matte formula, lasts forever on your lips, isn't drying and can be described as a cooler brown tone colour with grey under tones. Perfect coupled with simple eye makeup.

Viva Glam III:

This is my all time favourite burgundy lipstick. I have used this all winter and it is one of the best formulas I have ever seen. It moisturises the lips, very pigmented, lasts a long time on the lips and looks beautiful from the time its applied. This is a Matte formula with red/brown under tones. Perfect for Autumn and Winter paired with long lashes and slight blushed cheeks.

Velvet Teddy:

The infamous Kylie Jenner lip colour. This is a Matte formula and is pretty. I have to admit I bought it because of all the hype, however I don't reach for it too much. It is a pretty nude with a pink undertone - but not my favourite.

Mac moisture lipstick 20:

This is a pink with purple undertones. Super gorgeous on the lips and looks flawless and darker skin tones. This has a Matte to glossy finish and is a lovely colour for the summer time. Paired with light makeup, pink undertones, this lipstick is brought to life!

Spirit:

A brown with pin undertones - while it is similar to Persistence it has a more cooler undertone and glides on creamy. This lipstick has been my go to for Winter/Spring. The colour transcends seasons and can be worn with almost any makeup look. It is a Satin finish lipstick and adds gloss and pigment to give you the "my lips but better" look.

Hug Me:

The perfect colour for a romantic date with your love! This colour I actually inherited from my mom years ago. I haven't repurchased it yet but I will when it runs out. It is a flirty Lustre finish which gives your lips a tint of colour with not too much pigment. You would definitely have to pair this lipstick with a darker lip liner for a better colour payoff - otherwise just wear it alone for a flirty look!

Amorous:

I have repurchased this lipstick because it is that amazing. It might have been my first Mac lipstick that I bought myself. I wore it everyday for a good two months when I first got simply because it is the prettiest colour on my skin tone. It is a mink pink with purple/brown undertones. I just love the way this looks and fees on my lips. It is a Satin finish lipstick with great colour payoff and amazing staying power.

This next one is a lustre formula however - I have had this bullet for the longest time that the colour name has completely rubbed off. It is a light peach brown colour - very glossy and super smooth on the lips. I haven't used it too much simply because I feel it can sometimes get a bit greasy and look oily on my lips.

Persistence:

A brown with pink undertones - this colour has amazing colour payoff and makes your lips look full and glossy. While it is a Matte formula it has a tint of shine in and with the light it gives your lips that sun-kissed gloss. Perfect paired with a neutrals, smoky eyes and golden bronze makeup.

All fired Up:

The most shocking pink ever! This colour is just life - it is a bright pink colour and is all you need for that perfect pop of colour. I wear this with only face makeup on so the lips are the star of the show. It is a Retro Matte formula and is quite drying and does crack sometimes on the lips. I recommend wearing a lip ice/balm first and then applying this lipstick so it glides on smoothly and the base will prevent it from cracking.

Chili:

This is an orange red lipstick. For my skin tone I feel reds like this work better than pure reds ie: Ruby Woo by Mac. This red is not as intense and blends seamlessly with other colours. It is a Matte formula and stains your lips to avoid reapplication.

Rebel:

The prettiest purple lipstick! I use this with the Magenta lip liner and it blends and appears to beautifully. It does have some brown undertone but the bright purple is the star of the show. It is a Satin finish with super colour payoff.

Cyber:

My most recent purchase - is this scary almost black colour. This is on trend recently - thanks to Arianne Grande's collaboration with Mac, she released a similar colour to this. This is a super super dark purple colour - not for everyday use at all but looks amazing at night with little eye makeup. It brings a unique pop of colour to the lips and makes them stand out. It is a Satin finish and glides on very easily - no need for a lip liner.

This is the colour pay off of Mac colours in the sun and the pigment is solid with no streaky bits at all.

Please leave me comment below telling me which is your favourite Mac lipsticks, colours and formulas and let me know if there are some I should try.

Peace&Love

Prelene

XO

RECENT POSTS

ARCHIVES 

LET'S CONNECT

JOIN THE COMMUNITY FOR FREE

bottom of page