top of page

HOW TO: Protect your skin during seasonal change

Seasonal change can be tough for your skin. I have noticed that when the weather changes so does my skin. In order to avoid things going haywire I have to switch up my skin routine ensuring protection rather than cure.

If you have sensitive combination skin like mine, looking after your skin basically revolves around MOISTURISATION and preventing break outs.

There are a few skin care essentials that everyone should use religiously regardless of the season. I find that if I ensure my skin is clean and moisturised - with the below products - the weather hardly affects my skins appearance.

Sun protection:

It’s so important to protect your skin against damaging UV rays as it adds to premature aging, sunspots and dehydrated skin. I have noticed that using sunscreen daily has improved the appearance and texture of my skin dramatically.

The sunscreen recommended by my dermatologist is the Cetaphil Daylong 50+ sunscreen. This product is so amazing. It can be used on your face and over your whole body. The product claims to be very water resistant, non-greasy and won’t clog your pores. I use this everyday - especially in season change for protection. It's not greasy and can be used as a moisturiser under your makeup.

I have been using this for about three years now and have no complaints at all. I apply this every morning to my face and neck and I am protected for the day.

Exfoliate:

Weather its Autumn, Winter, Summer or Spring your skin needs to be replenished so it can breathe and glow. Exfoliating your skin at least twice a week will help remove dead skin cells, remove any dirt trapped in pores and leave your skin feeling smooth and healthy.

I have used the Uriage Eau Thermale exfoliating scrub this whole year. It’s a gel like formula with small particles which when rubbed on your face add the rough texture needed to scrub off the dirt. Its perfect for sensitive skin and does not leave your face feeling dry or rough. This product can also be used as a cleanser and with exfoliating gloves.

Pamper your skin:

Take the time to relax, relieve the stresses of your daily life and simply breathe. Stress contributes significantly to the appearance of our skin. I notice that my skin breaks out often when I am stressed or tends to get dull and lifeless.

Make time for a hot bath, a lie in the sun or even a nap on the couch with your favourite face mask on. Now, I know that every mask works differently for every person’s skin – but find one which works for you.

My skin gets very clogged and very saturated with all kinds of dirt, especially during a season change. So face masks which work the best for me are cleansing and purifying masks. The one mask I always continue to reach for is my Mask of Magnaminty from Lush. The smell of this mask is overwhelming but its made from all natural ingredients and definitely gets the job done. After having this on my face for about 10-15 minutes once a week, my skin looks and feels brand new.

Find a serum that works for you:

I suffer from dark spots and pigmentation left over from acne I had a few years ago - I have found that using dark spot serums under my moisturiser has not only reduced that harsh appearance of these dark spots, but has also shielded my skin from further damage.

I have tried many such serums on the market and my go to day time serum is the Kiehl’s Clearly Corrective Dark Spot Solution. This product is light weight and seeps right into your skin a few seconds after applying it. My skin appears matte, but also fresh and alive. I take two drops of this on my index and middle finger - rub my fingers together and massage into my face every morning.

For the night time I use the Estee Lauder Advanced Night Repair serum. This product is pure magic. I think that my dark spots have slowly disappeared by using this religiously. It’s a thick formula which works best at night, as indicated, it protects and manages my dark spots but also prevents further scarring from future break outs.

-----

These are products which have helped me so much in managing my skin and its exposure to environmental changes. I know our skin is tricky and can affect our self confidence if we are not happy with the way it looks. However, following a skin regime every morning and night helped me with my skin.

Basics like cleansing, toning and moisturising everyday will help you get the skin you want everyday – all year round!

Leave me a comment letting me know if this helped you and also products which have worked for you so and I can try them out.

Peace & Love

Prelene

xo

-----

Price List:

  • Cetaphil Daylong 50+ sunscreen = R209.95

  • Uriage Eau Thermale exfoliating scrub - R169.99

  • Mask of Magnaminty = R160.00

  • Kiehl’s Clearly Corrective Dark Spot Solution. = R700

  • Estee Lauder Advanced Night Repair – R715– R985

Retail Outlets:

Cetaphil and Uriage products are available at Dischem and Clicks outlets nationally. Lush products can only be found at selected Lush stores in SA (Rosebank and Dainfern Square). Kiehl’s and Estee Lauder items are sold at Edgars and Red Square stores.

RECENT POSTS

ARCHIVES 

LET'S CONNECT

JOIN THE COMMUNITY FOR FREE

bottom of page